Home / Factoring / New authority
Factoring for a new authority
Of 17 factoring companies, 7 say on their sites that they work with new authorities or startups, and none of the pages we read gives a minimum authority age. Two of them, Thunder Funding and Bobtail, tie approval to your brokers' credit. Source: each company's site, read Oct 24-25, 2026; quotes and links below.
- Apex Capital: addresses new carriers
- Bobtail: addresses new carriers
- Breakout Capital: not stated
- Denim: not stated
- eCapital: addresses new carriers
- HaulPay: not stated
- Love's Financial: not stated
- OTR Solutions: addresses new carriers
- Outgo: not stated
- Porter Freight Funding: not stated
- Riviera Finance: addresses new carriers
- RTS Financial: addresses new carriers
- Saint John Capital: not stated
- TCI Business Capital: not stated
- Thunder Funding: addresses new carriers
- Triumph: not stated
- WEX Capital: not stated
Filled: the company's site addresses new authorities or startups. Dashed: not stated on the pages we read.
What each company says about new authorities
| Company | Says it takes new carriers | Credit check on you | Minimum authority age |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apex Capital | "Startup Program to get your authority" apexcapitalcorp.com | not stated | not published |
| Bobtail | "Many factoring companies work with new authorities and startups, as long as your customers (brokers/shippers) have strong credit profiles." bobtail.com | not stated | not published |
| Breakout Capital | not stated | not stated | not published |
| Denim | not statedOffer: "Introductory factoring rate of 1.99% applies to the first three (3) months of factoring service for eligible new Truckstop factoring customers" truckstop.com | not stated | not published |
| eCapital | "Freight Factoring provides owner operators with trucking startup companies immediate access to capital." ecapital.com | not stated | not published |
| HaulPay | not stated | not stated | not published |
| Love's Financial | not stated | not stated | not published |
| OTR Solutions | "OTR Solutions works with owner-operators, new authorities, and established fleets." otrsolutions.com | "OTR Solutions does not require a credit check to get started with freight factoring." otrsolutions.com | not published |
| Outgo | not stated | not stated | not published |
| Porter Freight Funding | not stated | not stated | not published |
| Riviera Finance | "Even recent start-ups are not a problem in most cases, as long as there are verifiable accounts receivable." rivierafinance.com | not stated | not published |
| RTS Financial | "RTS is a trusted transportation factoring company that provides quick, reliable funding for all eligible invoices, helping new carriers continue to grow." rtsinc.com | not stated | not published |
| Saint John Capital | not stated | "(Credit is not checked)" saintjohncapital.com | not published |
| TCI Business Capital | not stated | not stated | not published |
| Thunder Funding | "Because factoring approval is largely based on the credit quality of the broker being invoiced, startups and newly authorized carriers are often able to qualify." thunderfunding.com | not stated | not published |
| Triumph | not stated | not stated | not published |
| WEX Capital | not stated | not stated | not published |
We searched the pages we read for each company (listed on its company page) for wording about new authorities, startups, time in business and authority age. "Not stated" means we didn't find it on those pages, not that the company refuses new carriers.
What to ask before you sign
- Is there a minimum time with active authority, and is it in writing?
- Is the first rate an intro rate, and what is it after? Truckstop's intro, for example, is 1.99% for three months, down from its standard 2.99% (truckstop.com).
- Does an intro rate require a longer contract? Porter's 1.5% intro needs a one-year recourse contract (porterfreightfunding.com).
- Every fee in our factoring rates calculator, and the exit terms in how to leave.
Starting from scratch? The new authority checklist lists the FMCSA, IRS and UCR steps. We have no paid relationship with any factor. Not financial advice.
Questions
Can I get factoring with a new authority?
Usually. 7 of the 17 factoring companies we checked say on their sites that they work with new authorities or startups, and none of the pages we read sets a minimum authority age.
Do factoring companies check my credit?
Mostly they check your brokers'. Thunder Funding ties approval to "the credit quality of the broker being invoiced". OTR Solutions: "OTR Solutions does not require a credit check to get started with freight factoring." Saint John Capital: "(Credit is not checked)"
What are factoring rates for a new authority?
The pages we read list no rate just for new authorities. Two companies publish intro rates for new customers: Porter Freight Funding 1.5% for the first 60 days and Truckstop (Denim) 1.99% for the first 3 months. All published rates.